Sunday, November 1, 2009

A Fun Day with Britain!

Last weekend, Poppy and I got to spend the WHOLE day with Britain! It was Sean's weekend to have the children and Lawson had an all-day Cub Scout event and Britain wanted to spend time with her Nene - so it all worked out!
I love my precious little blonde-haired granddaughter!
Poppy and I met Sean and the kids about 7am in the parking lot of Hobby Lobby. We loaded Britain into our car and off we went!
Britain wanted pancakes for breakfast so we stopped at the Village Inn and got our tummies full of blueberry pancakes, bacon and chocolate milk.
Britain and I dropped Poppy off at work and started our day together.
WE went to Hobby Lobby and bought Autumn decorations for Nene's house and many rolls of ribbon for making hairbows.
Brit and I got manicures with matching orange halloween polish.
From there we stopped at my friend Penny's house so that Brit could change into her soccer clothes - from there we were off to her soccer game!
After soccer we picked Poppy up and headed to Bella Vista!
Britain and I had a great time making hairbows! She is very creative.
Britain wanted to learn how to sew. Hmmm...
I taught her quickly how to properly handle a needle and thread without sticking herself - and then how to sew a straight stitch. She loved it! She sewed up every bit of scrap fabric and ribbon that I had.
So cute! I promised her that next time I would teach her to sew on a button. She is excited.
Britain is a little love-bug. I got lots of hugs and smooches and "I love you Nene" from her. She still likes to sit in my lap and read or just talk.
I love you little girl!
Thanks for spending the day with me.

Drama Magnet!

Sometimes I feel like a drama magnet! Really - I do!
I don't need any help - I am a bit (ok a lot) dramatic all by myself!
It's part of who I am.
I think it is partly because I feel everything so deeply - I feel with my entire being! In addition, I find it hard to hide my feelings. I am pretty transparent.
Over the years, I have learned to control many of my feelings. As every responsible adult knows, controlling feelings and emotions is sometimes a "requirement" for getting along in our society and daily life and to not hurt another's feelings.
I have spent a big part of my life apologizing for being emotional and passionate. I think I will quit though.
Had a conversation with my middle son a couple of months ago - he suggested that I just embrace that part of my personality - that part of who I am. Sean actually loves my emotional, zealous, passionate, sometimes fanatical side. He gave me a really good pep talk and suggested that I embrace that part of who I am and quit trying to change in an effort to accomodate other people and just love all of who I am. After all, people void of passion, rarely ever do great things.
I can't risk not doing great things - so my passionnate side is now embraced by me!
With that being said - I DON'T NEED ANY EXTRA HELP in the drama department.
But - guess what happened this past week???
It was 11 am on Wednesday - I am leaving work to go to an enrollment meeting with a new group. I pull out of my parking space in the parking lot in front of my office. There is a jeep in front of me - just sitting in the parking lot, blocking me from getting by. So I am waiting behind him while he decides what he will do; park or drive forward. He (yes it was a man) starts to turn into a parking space, then suddenly puts his car in reverse and SLAMS into the front of my car! Hmmm...
He doesn't get out of his car - I finally get out to look at the front of my car - and the jeep driver stumbles out of his vehicle and starts walking (well staggering) toward me. Yep - at 11 am, he is drunk and driving and in my work parking lot!
I start trying to get information from him; he gets back in his jeep and rolls the window up. My cell phone is back in my vehicle, so I can't call the police - I am feeling like if I go for my phone, he will drive away.
Anyhow, He finally decides that he will hold his insurance card up to the window of his jeep so that I can write down his information. He put his window down again - and said, "I can't believe that you are being this way." I said, "what way?" He says, "making me give you my insurance information." I said to him, "I think you have had too much to drink and have no business driving a vehicle right now. Why don't you pull into a parking spot and let me call someone to come and get you?" He said, "that is none of my business." I told him that, "he just hit my vehicle and made it my business." Anyway there was more incoherent conversation - I didn't get mad - he didn't want to call the police and he finally drove away.
I went inside my office - did the right thing - called the police to let them know that he was driving drunk - told them it was a 2002 Jeep and even told them that he was looking for the Cox Cable office. I tried to write down his license plate number as he drove away - and gave the dispatcher that information too. The dispatcher asked me if I was ok - I said yes - and asked if I wanted an officer to come. I said "NO-not right now, I am on my way to a meeting and can't be late."
Well, after my meeting, I called my hubby - he was upset with me cuz I didn't have an officer come out and said that insurance wouldn't pay without a police report. I called and verified that with Aaron, my policeman son - it is true - gotta have a police report.
So - I call back to the PD - and they send a Johnson police officer to my office. Yep - a Johnson Police officer. Turns out our office has a Springdale address - but it is actually in Johnson.
Now, I appreciate every man and woman that puts on a uniform everyday and carries a gun in order to protect and serve me. I do. I for one am NOT willing to put on a uniform, a bullet proof vest and a gun everyday and put my life on the line for total strangers. So, yes, I am thankful for everyone that does.
But the Johnson police! Really??? Johnson has about 500 citizens and 25 police officers! Their job is to patrol the ONLY street in Johnson and give out speeding tickets to several hundred people every day that go 26 mph on their 25 mph street!
Oh - I forgot to say that when I made my first call at 11:09 am - I called the Springdale PD because our address at work says Springdale. They told me that I had to call the Washington County Sheriff and gave me that phone number. I called the Washington County Sheriff and their dispatch department took my information about the drunk driver, etc.
When I called the WCSD to request an officer - they say that a Johnson PD officer will come out to take the report.
About 10 minutes after my request for an officer to take a report so that my insurance will fix my car, in struts and yes I mean struts, a dorky looking little tiny officer all dressed up in his uniform and looking very stern and serious. For real - I am about 5'9" tall and I towered over him by a good 9" and out-weighed him by at least 100 pounds! Ok - that is a slight exaggeration.
He begins by letting me know that I am now involved in a criminal case. I looked at him and asked, "who is the criminal?" He said that I was the criminal. Me, really? I asked him how I could be the criminal here? He proceeded to tell me that I allowed an alledged drunk driver to drive away from the scene of an accident. Really???
I think I said something like, "you're kidding, true?" With a very pompous, stern and serious reply - he said that he was not kidding and this is now a criminal investigation. He demanded to know why I hadn't notified the authorities earlier. I reminded him that I did call them and told them the whole story, let them know that the driver was drunk, that he hit my car, that I was ok, gave them what I believed to be the license tag # (remember, I was trying to remember it as he drove away) and even told them where he was headed; The Cox Cable Office.
Anyhow, to make a long story not quite as long, he maintained that I was trying to hide something because I didn't request an officer to come to the scene until 4 hours later and I had allowed a drunk driver to leave the scene of an accident. He also let me know that the license tag that I had reported, belonged to a rental vehicle so that was suspicous. I reminded the little frick (replace f with a p) that I was trying to remember the numbers and letters as the real CRIMINAL drove away. He told me that he would fill out the report for me but it wouldn't have the drivers information because the tag # was wrong. I reminded Barney Fife that I did have the perp's insurance information, complete with a NAME!!!! Barney maintained that wasn't enough.
He left and I was emotional and passionate! aka I was PISSED!!!! Drama followed! I called my personal police officer, Aaron, and he assured me that I was not a criminal and that the Barney Fife impersonator that came from the Johnson PD was indeed a frick (he knew him personally)and that Barney could and BETTER put all of the criminal drivers information on my police report so my insurance would pay. My son assured me that if Barney didn't fill out my report correctly with all of the information that he had access to, then my personal police officer was going to file a report against Barney!
See what I mean? Now my sweet son was in drama mode.
I tell you - I feel like a drama magnet sometimes.
I was trying to mind my own business - go to a work meeting - wait patiently in the parking lot for the guy in front of me in the jeep to get out of the way so that I could proceed. And then suddenly - VOILA - drama!
On top of all of this - I called the criminal's insurance company next. The nice lady that answered the phone at Geico - informed me that an accident report had already been filed that day by the criminal. I insisited that he must have been involved in TWO accidents that morning. He didn't even know my name and didn't ask to see my license or my insurance information. Turns out, he recognized my face from when I was in real estate and knew my name from that. That's kind of scarey in itself.
Anyhow - he reported to his insurance company that I WAS DRIVING DRUNK in the parking lot and ran into him.
Unbelievable!!!!
More drama ensues!
See what I mean?
I think I am indeed a Drama-Magnet!
Peace and Love,
Char